REVIEW: mark. by Avon Cosmetics – Lipsticks

IMG_20170418_082622_142

When Avon Cosmetics released their new beauty brand, mark. By Avon in South Africa, I was curious to find out what it all meant for Avon as a brand. Me being an “Avon Lady” or “Rep” I obviously had to be in the know about the quality of the “new” kids on the block. Truth is I was skeptical because I honestly thought that they had just changed the packaging and stuck a name to it to make a point. I was pleasantly surprised to note that it was an actual thing. They have lipsticks, mascaras, lip-glosses, the works! I was all the more surprised to see that the brand was as big abroad as they had made  it out to seem here at home.

Anyways…on to the review…

 

images
image courtesy of avon.it

So I am a thick-lipped girl and brightly coloured lipsticks are a lot of the times a “no-no” for me, mostly because it looks tacky and too much. Way extra! But I love that I can use it to lighten a dark lip or create an ombre look with the colours featured in this review, namely Starburst Pink and Rapid Rose. I also love that they create the perfect subtle lip for the dramatic smokey eye that I love.

Swatches

 PhotoGrid_1492496503810

Pros

These lippies are super pigmented. I love that the colour is rich and that they are more moisturising than I expected them to be. I love that (even though I am reviewing just these two colours) there are a lot of colours to choose from, ranging from deep and rich to the light and subtle. They are inexpensive and give you quality that slightly surpasses the price tag. The packaging is uber cool!

cons

These two colours are too light for me specifically, BUT they could work wonders for YOU. Because they are lustrous, they are too thin for me and end up looking cracked, unless I really cake it on. If I do cake ’em on, it looks way too extra. No winning really.

But overall, I’m keen to give all of the colours a chance as time goes by and perhaps I will find my perfect match.

offer_one
image courtesy of avon.com

Like I mentioned in the pros, the packaging is quite edgy and fun and think it moves Avon from a mommy brand to a more hip brand (in my opinion).

 

I think Avon is on to something with this one. Way to go Avon Cosmetics.

Leave a Reply

